News Flash Home
The original item was published from 11/7/2019 1:48:00 PM to 11/7/2019 2:05:42 PM.

News Flash


Posted on: November 5, 2019

[ARCHIVED] City of Greer election results certified


In the only contested race, Mark Hopper collected 130 votes (65%) to outpace challenger Andrew Hopkins, who gained 73 votes (35%) for the Greer City Council District 3 seat.

The current chair of the Greer Planning Commission, Hopper will be sworn into office at city council's January 14, 2020, regularly-scheduled meeting.

Mayor Rick Danner ran unopposed and collected 634 votes on his way to winning a sixth consecutive term. Incumbents Jay Arrowood (District 1) and Wryley Bettis (District 5), were also unopposed and received 50 and 85 votes, respectively.  

Voters returned Gene Gibson to his commissioner's seat with Greer CPW. Running unopposed, Gibson earned 629 votes.

City of Greer 2019 Certified Election Results

City of Greer Mayor

Rick Danner (I)
Greenville County436
Spartanburg County198

Greer City Council District 1

Jay Arrowood (I)
Greenville County45
Spartanburg County5

Greer City Council District 3

Andrew HopkinsMark Hopper
Greenville County3038
Spartanburg County43100

Greer City Council District 5

Wryley Bettis (I)
Greenville County85
Spartanburg County0

Greer CPW Commissioner

Gene Gibson (I)
Greenville County433
Spartanburg County196

Facebook Twitter Email